Why I Love “The Simpsons”

As I had mentioned in an earlier post, my brother and I have been spending almost every night, watching Grey’s Anatomy from around 11:00pm -1:40am or so. We’ve watched around 3 episodes a night, and are now caught up to season 7! Yes, I know we are still far behind, but it doesn’t matter. I’d like to savor the episodes since I have other things I’d like to do throughout the day than binge-watch an entire season 😉

Anyway, that’s how I’ve been spending my late nights after returning home from studying abroad in Spain. But now, my brother is back in school (he’s a sophomore in high school), and I’m nice enough to wait until the weekends to get caught up with Grey’s Anatomy again. So instead, I’ve been spending my late nights watching a few episodes of The Simpsons. It’s been so long since I’ve watched these shows, I had forgotten how stress-relieving they could be (for me, at least!).

I can get so much out of this show, especially since the show reveals the true nature of life…and makes fun of it.

If you’ve watched enough episodes, or at least have been informed about the general theme of The Simpsons, then you know that it is a parody on life. It incorporates themes about every-day American life, and presents them in such humorous ways. An example was in the episode I saw the other day, in which all technology had been lost. One moment, these teenagers were texting, and the second their iPhones malfunctioned, they started writing and mailing letters! It was just so funny to see that happen the moment after their devices stopped working.

Summer break will be over soon, so I’m doing my best to enjoy these last few days before I return to North Carolina. I’ve already finished rewriting the first draft of one of my Genotopia novels, and in the past few weeks or so, I’ve been intensively working on the first drafts of two more Genotopia novels. Surprisingly, I finished them both! Keep in mind that these are just the first drafts, and there’s still a lot more work to do before I can say these novels are “finished.” I’ve decided to hold off the rewriting process of my second Genotopia novel until Christmas break, and then the rewriting process for my third one next summer. This is because, out of all three Genotopia novels I have written thus far, I want to publish my second one first. These are not in chronological order—they are stand-alone novels and each can be read in any order. So once I finish rewriting and self-editing my second Genotopia novel in Christmas break, I’ll have it sent off to an editor, and then after working on some more revisions, I’ll be on that arduous path to publishing it!

Anyway, that’s all I have for now. I know this was short, even though so much has been on my mind lately, particularly things that have to do with school, research projects, and medical school preparation. But I’m saving those topics for future posts, including some reflections about my future plans for my upcoming semester at Duke.

Looking forward to sophomore year! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

